WOW MUSEUM

Customer
Founders Vanessa & Matthias Kammermann
Task

Interior design and scenography, project planning, tendering, realisation

Solution

Room for Illusions with WOW effects

ROOM FOR ILLUSIONS

After one and a half years of development, the WOW Museum in the heart of Zurich was opened in early summer 2020. On over 400 square metres, visitors experience surprising sensory illusions, illusions and new perspectives.

As soon as they enter the foyer, they experience the first WOW effect: the reduced entrance area in white and the large WOW fire - equipped with 200 metres of programmable LED strips - leaves them in awe. The tour begins in the "Maze", a labyrinth of illuminated mirrors, which appears far larger due to the effects, thus introducing the visitor to the world of illusions. A further 11 individually developed, interactive illusion rooms surprise anew and change perspectives and spatial perceptions.

On the upper floor is the "Wonder Lab", the educational area of the exhibition, where the exhibits invite visitors to experiment. The bright, modular room is also suitable for workshops as part of the museum tours and is very popular with school classes, among others.

Our room designers, scenographers and architects worked on the individual and surprising room stagings. Under the construction management of Aroma, the former furniture shop was converted into rooms full of illusions.

WOW_Arch_15

Room concept

WOW_Arc_18
WOW_Arc_20
WOW_Arc_21
WOW_Arc_22
WOW_Arc_23
WOW_Arc_24
WOW_Arc_25
WOW_Arc_26
WOW_Arc_27

«We are deeply impressed by Aroma's handling of an unusual topic. The team very quickly took up our idea and together we worked out an ingenious concept with great commitment and pleasure. The breadth of Aroma's expertise combined with the strong partner network made it possible to realise this complex project efficiently and successfully.»

Matthias Kammermann, Initiator and Founder des WOW Museums

WOW MUSEUM

Kunde
Founders Vanessa & Matthias Kammermann
Aufgabe

Innenarchitektur und Szenografie, Projektierung, Ausschreibung, Realisierung

Lösung

Room for Illusions mit WOW-Effekten

ROOM FOR ILLUSIONS

Nach eineinhalb Jahren Entwicklungszeit wurde im Frühsommer 2020 das WOW Museum im Herzen Zürichs eröffnet. Auf über 400 Quadratmeter erfahren die BesucherInnen überraschende Sinnestäuschungen, Illusionen und neue Perspektiven.

Bereits beim Betreten des Foyers erlebt man den ersten WOW-Effekt: Der in weiss gehaltene, reduzierte Eingangsbereich und der grossflächige WOW-Brand – bestückt mit 200 Metern programmierbaren LED-Stripes – lässt einen staunen. Die Tour beginnt im «Maze», einem Lichtspiegel-Labyrinth, das durch die Effekte weit grösser erscheint und so in die Welt der Illusionen einführt. Weitere 11 individuell entwickelte, interaktive Illusionsräume überraschen aufs Neue und verändern Perspektiven sowie räumliche Wahrnehmungen.

Im Obergeschoss befindet sich das «Wonder Lab», der edukativ gestaltete Bereich der Ausstellung, wo die Exponate BesucherInnen zum Experimentieren einladen. Der helle, modular aufgebaute Raum eignet sich zudem für Workshops im Rahmen der Museumsführungen und wird unter anderem von Schulklassen rege besucht.

An den individuellen und überraschenden Rauminszenierungen arbeiteten unsere Raumkonzepter, Szenografen und Architekten. Unter der Bauleitung von Aroma wurde das ehemalige Möbelgeschäft zu Räumen voller Illusionen umgebaut.

WOW_Arch_15

Raumkonzept

WOW_Arc_18
WOW_Arc_20
WOW_Arc_21
WOW_Arc_22
WOW_Arc_23
WOW_Arc_24
WOW_Arc_25
WOW_Arc_26
WOW_Arc_27

«Wir sind nachhaltig beeindruckt von Aroma’s Umgang mit einer nicht alltäglichen Thematik. Das Team hat sehr schnell unsere Idee aufgenommen und zusammen haben wir mit viel Engagement und Freude ein geniales Konzept erarbeitet. Die Breite der Kompetenzen von Aroma verbunden mit dem starken Partner-Netzwerk haben es ermöglicht, dieses komplexe Vorhaben effizient und erfolgreich zu realisieren.»

Matthias Kammermann, Initiator und Founder des WOW Museums